Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

McCready nominated for top NW award

10 October 2012

Defender up for top gong

Morecambe’s Chris McCready has been nominated as League Two Player of the Year at the forthcoming Northwest Football Awards.


The former Crewe Alexandra youth-team graduate faces competition from fellow Alex youth product Nick Powell, Accrington Stanley striker Pádraig Amond and Macclesfield Town’s José Veiga.


category for this year’s ceremony.Community Initiative of the YearThe Shrimps have also been shortlisted in the


After a year when clubs from the north west have dominated the headlines, with both Manchester clubs battling it out for the 2011/12 Premier League title in one of the most dramatic seasons in living memory, the judges on the panel for the 2012 Northwest Football Awards have completed the difficult task of shortlisting the region’s Player of the Year nominations for the top five divisions.


Supporters can now cast their vote to back their heroes and help decide which players will receive the various accolades. Visitwww.northwestfootballawards.comto cast your vote, or cast your decision via Facebook ( and Twitter (@NWFAwards).


All supporters who vote for their chosen Player of the Year will also be entered into a free prize draw to win a pair of tickets for the Northwest Football Awards ceremony.


Consisting of professionals across all aspects of the game, including PFA Chairman Gordon Taylor OBE, Editor of FC Business Ryan McKnight and former FA Chief Executive Mark Palios, the panel have announced the finalists that will be competing for various honours at the awards ceremony, which takes place on Monday 12 November at Lancashire County Cricket Club’s ‘The Point’ and will be presented by BBC Sport’s Dan Walker.


The awards also celebrate achievements across all areas of professional clubs – from the Premier League to the Blue Square Premier Division, including the best community initiatives, marketing campaigns and sponsorship engagement.


Special categories on the night will also recognise the Northwest Football Journalist of the Year, Manager of the Year, Goal of the Year, as well as a Lifetime Contribution to Northwest Football and an Unsung Hero Award.


The full shortlists for the divisional Player of the Year awards are as follows:


Premier League Player of the Year

Yakubu Aiyegbeni – Blackburn Rovers (now at Guangzhou R&F FC)

Ádám Bogdán – Bolton Wanderers

John Heitinga – Everton

Martin Škrtel – Liverpool

Vincent Kompany – Manchester City

Antonio Valencia – Manchester United

Gary Caldwell – Wigan Athletic


Championship Player of the Year

Alex Baptise – Blackpool

Jay Rodriguez – Burnley (now at Southampton)


League One Player of the Year

David Worrall - Bury

Lee Miller – Carlisle United

Kieren Lee – Oldham Athletic (now at Sheffield Wednesday)

Thorsten Stuckmann – Preston North End

Jason Kennedy – Rochdale

David Buchanan – Tranmere Rovers (now at Preston North End)


League Two Player of the Year

Pádraig Amond – Accrington Stanley

Nick Powell – Crewe Alexandra (now Manchester United)

Chris McCready– Morecambe

José Veiga – Macclesfield Town (now with Harrogate Town)


Non-League Player of the Year

Damian Reeves - Altrincham

Joe Connor – Stockport County

Tom Hannigan – Vauxhall Motors FC


Tickets and tables for his year’s Northwest Football Awards are still available, for more information

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account