Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Football League Awards 2014

30 January 2014

Club News

Football League Awards 2014

30 January 2014

MFC Community Sports shortlisted

Morecambe FC Community Sports have been shortlisted for a prestigious award at the 2014 Football League Awards, which will take place at The Brewery, London, on Sunday 16th March 2014.

The Awards, which celebrate on and off pitch achievements across The League’s 72 clubs, will reward players, clubs and fans in eight categories, which include honours for the Family Club of the Year, Community Club of the Year, Fan of the Year and the Unsung Hero award.

Morecambe FC Community Sports have been shortlisted for Community Club of the Year, after being selected as North West regional winners by the judging panel.

Janet Preston, Community Manager, Morecambe FC Community Sports, said:

“It is a fantastic honour to be selected as regional winners for the North West and to go forward to the national awards.  There are a lot of clubs in the divisions above us who also do fantastic work, so to be chosen ahead of them is a real achievement.  Everyone is thrilled that the work we do with our community has been recognised in this way.”

Shaun Harvey, Chief Executive of The Football League, said:

“Many millions of fans attend Football League matches each season and The Football League Awards 2014 provides the opportunity to recognise star performances, both on and off the pitch.

“Once again, the quality of the entries this year has been extremely high, so to make the shortlists is a real achievement by the clubs and individuals involved. We wish all those nominated the best of luck and look forward to a fantastic evening in March when we will announce the winners.”

The shortlists were drawn up by a panel of judges over two days in January 2014, following a stringent assessment process. Judges included influential members of media, sports industry figures and representatives of The Football League and its partners.
Johnstone’s Paint Community Club of the Year Award (shortlist comprises of five regional winners)

Brentford (South East Winner)
Derby County (Midlands Winner)
Doncaster Rovers (North East Winner)
Morecambe (North West Winner)
Portsmouth (South West Winner)

To find out more about The Football League Awards, and for a full list of Award categories, please visit

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account