Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Morecambe 1, Northampton Town 1

22 March 2014

Club News

Morecambe 1, Northampton Town 1

22 March 2014

Shrimps pick up deserved point

MORECAMBE picked up a well earned point against Northampton Town this afternoon.

One of the best team goals of the season for Padraig Amond on 76 gave the Shrimps the point they deserved after going down to a nightmate own goal on 44 minutes.

The first real opportunity of the afternoon went to the Cobblers with Emile Sinclair's parried shot not quite falling for Ian Morris.

Amond struck the post for Morecambe on 26 minutes before at the other end a cross from Alan Connell just eluded Sinclair.

But the visitors had the lead just before half-time when Emile Sinclair's cross was sliced into his own net by Wright.

Morecambe started the second half brightly and went close to scoring an equaliser when an audacious lob from Jamie Devitt landed on the roof of the Cobblers net.

Matt Duke then made a terrific save to keep out a well-struck curling free-kick from Kevin Ellison.

The Shrimps scored an equaliser on 75 minutes, a neat back heel from substitute Jack Redshaw setting up Padraig Amond who made it 1-1.

Sinclair smashed a shot against Roche as the Cobblers looked to quickly restore their lead.

The Cobblers finished the 90 minutes strongly with three corners in quick succession, from one of which Morris saw a shot blocked on the line, before Devitt thought he had won it for Morecambe in stoppage time, only for his shot to go inches wide of the post. That proved to be the last chance of the afternoon as the game ended all-square.

Morecambe: Barry Roche, Robbie Threlfall, Alex Kenyon, Mark Hughes, Andrew Wright, Jack Sampson (sub Jack Redshaw 62), Kevin Ellison (sub Marcus Marshall 86), Jamie Devitt, Andrew Fleming, Padraig Amond (sub Tony Diagne 90), Ryan Edwards. 

Subs not used: Andreas Arestidou, Ryan Williams, Chris McCready, Joe McGee

Northampton: Matt Duke, Ben Tozer, Zander Diamond,  Mathias Kouo-Doumbe, Gregor Robertson, Chris Hackett(sub Gary Deegan 15), Ricky Ravenhill, Darren Carter, Ian Morris, Emile Sinclair, Alan Connell

Subs not used: Dean Snedker, Leon McSweeney, Ivan Toney, Cristian Lopez, Brennan Dickenson, David Moyo              

Referee: Mr C Sarginson

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account