Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Mitre Goal Of The Year

23 January 2015

Club News

Mitre Goal Of The Year

23 January 2015

Vote for the Morecambe FC goal of 2014

The Football League have launched the search to find the Mitre Goal of the Year for 2014 and we are asking for your help in deciding which of our goals from 2014 should be put forward as our nomination. 

Morecambe FC can nominate one goal scored in the 2014 calendar year, to include goals scored in the Sky Bet Football League, the Capital One Cup and the Johnstone’s Paint Trophy. 

We want fans to help us decide our club nomination by emailing your choice from the shortlist below to or via the relevant comments on the Morecambe FC social media channels. The goal with the most votes win! 

Goal 1: Padraig Amond vs Northampton Town - 22nd March
Goal 2: Kevin Ellison vs Newport County - 16th August
Goal 3: Jack Redshaw vs Southend United - 4th October

See all 3 goals in the video below.

Closing date Friday 30 January 5pm. 

The 72 club nominated goals will be whittled down to an initial 10 and then a judging panel will review the goals with the top 10 being shown on Sky Sports’ Soccer AM in March. A final shortlist of 5 goals to go forward to the Awards evening on Sunday 19th April.

Fans will be given the opportunity to vote for goals to make the final shortlist of five, with the overall winner being decided by attendees at the glittering Awards ceremony at The Brewery, London on Sunday 19th April 2015.
Past winners of the Mitre Goal of the Year: 

2013 - Franck Moussa (Coventry City)
2012 - Simon Cox (Nottingham Forest)
2011 - Peter Whittingham (Cardiff City)
2010 - Dean Furman (Oldham Athletic)
2009 - Nicky Maynard (Bristol City)
2008 - Sylvain-Ebanks Blake (Wolverhampton Wanderers)
2007 - Jermaine Beckford (Leeds United)
2006 - Joe Ledley (Cardiff City)
2005 - Stefan Oakes (Notts County)

To find out more about The Football League Awards please visit 

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account