Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


16 April 2016

At its meeting on Thursday (April 14), the Board of Directors of The Football League approved the unanimous recommendation of its Nominations Committee that current Director, Ian Lenagan should succeed Greg Clarke as the Chairman of The Football League in June 2016.

The appointment remains subject to the Board completing its normal governance procedures regarding senior appointments. League clubs will then be asked to ratify the appointment in the normal way at their AGM on June 10.

Richard Bowker CBE, Independent Director of The Football League, who chaired the Nominations Committee said: “While there was an extremely strong short list of candidates, the Board felt that Ian's proven track record in business and his previous involvement in club football with Oxford United, combined with the continuity his appointment will bring, made him the outstanding candidate.”

Football League Chairman, Greg Clarke said: "Since joining in 2013, Ian has made an important contribution to the Board's work and also that of the FA Board, as one of our two representatives. I am delighted to leave The Football League in very safe and very capable hands and I will work with Ian throughout the rest of my time at the League to ensure a smooth transition to his leadership."

Ian Lenagan said: “It is a great honour to be asked to be Chairman of The Football League and lead our 72 clubs in the next stage of our development under the new EFL brand.  I look forward to continuing the Board’s progressive work that is being delivered for the benefit of all our member clubs.”


Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account