Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Top 15 Players

21 April 2016

Club News

Top 15 Players

21 April 2016

Top fifteen players of the season announced for each division of the Sky Bet Football League.

The Football League has announced its list of top fifteen players in each division of the Sky Bet Football League this season.

The list was compiled as part of the Football League Awards 2016, and is based on votes submitted by managers of the clubs in each division.  Each manager was asked to list their top five players from this season in order, with the scores added up to compile the lists and decide the overall winners.

Burnley’s Andre Gray (Sky Bet Championship), Bradley Dack of Gillingham (Sky Bet League 1) and Kemar Roofe of Oxford United (Sky Bet League 2) were named the divisional Sky Bet Players of the Year at the Awards ceremony on Sunday.  The top fifteen players in each division, as voted for by Sky Bet Football League club managers, has now been revealed and is as follows:

Sky Bet Championship
1. Andre Gray (Burnley)
2. Ross McCormack (Fulham)
3. Alan Judge (Brentford)
4. Joey Barton (Burnley)
5. Fernando Forestieri (Sheffield Wednesday)
6. Dale Stephens (Brighton & Hove Albion)
7. Daniel Ayala (Middlesbrough)
8. Michael Dawson (Hull City)
9. Grant Leadbitter (Middlesbrough)
10. George Friend (Middlesbrough)
11. Andy Robertson (Hull City)
12. Adam Clayton (Middlesbrough)
13. Sam Clucas (Hull City)
14. Lewis Dunk (Brighton & Hove Albion)
15. Michael Keane (Burnley)

Sky Bet League 1
1. Bradley Dack (Gillingham)
2. Romaine Sawyers (Walsall)
3. Nicky Ajose (Swindon Town)
4. Will Grigg (Wigan Athletic)
5. Lee Gregory (Millwall)
6. Tom Bradshaw (Walsall)
7. Yanic Wildschut (Wigan Athletic)
8. David Perkins (Wigan Athletic)
9. Sam Winnall (Barnsley)
10. Max Power (Wigan Athletic)
11. John Mousinho (Burton Albion)
12. Sam Morsy (Wigan Athletic)
13. Craig Morgan (Wigan Athletic)
14. Jon McLaughlin (Burton Albion)
15. John Fleck (Coventry City)

Sky Bet League 2
1. Kemar Roofe (Oxford United)
2. Ricky Holmes (Northampton Town)
3. Matty Taylor (Bristol Rovers)
4. Matt Crooks (Accrington Stanley)
5. Jay Simpson (Leyton Orient)
6. Graham Carey (Plymouth Argyle)
7. Liam Sercombe (Oxford United)
8. Billy Kee (Accrington Stanley)
9. John-Joe O'Toole (Northampton Town)
10. Josh Windass (Accrington Stanley)
11. Tom Lockyer (Bristol Rovers)
12. John Lundstram (Oxford United)
13. Marc Richards (Northampton Town)
14. Adam Webster (Portsmouth)
15. Kyle Bennett (Portsmouth)

The Football League Awards 2016 marked the 11th year of the event, which celebrates on and off pitch excellence across The League’s 72 clubs.

Alongside the three divisional Sky Bet Players of the Year, other winners on the night included Leeds United midfielder Lewis Cook, who was named The Football League’s Young Player of the Year, following in the footsteps of last year’s winner Dele Alli, as well as previous winners like Gareth Bale, Fabian Delph and Wilfried Zaha.

The prestigious Contribution to League Football Award was presented to Andy Williamson, who was rewarded for 45 years of unbroken service to The Football League and its clubs. During his time with the organisation, Williamson has been at the heart of many of the League’s defining moments including the introduction of three points for a win in 1981 and the creation of the Play-Offs in 1986.

Bolton Wanderers legend and former Chesterfield and Preston North End striker Kevin Davies picked up the Sir Tom Finney Award, presented to a recently retired player that has had an outstanding career and been a model professional.

The Football League also announced its Football Manager Team of the Season, revealing an all-star line-up that recognises the 11 outstanding players and one manager from across all three divisions of the Sky Bet Football League this season. The team included Joey Barton, Alan Judge, George Friend and Nicky Ajose, while Northampton Town manager Chris Wilder was selected as manager.

One of the real stars of the night was 7-year-old Bristol City fan Oskar Pycroft, who was named Capital One Supporter of the Year

To find out more about The Football League Awards, and for a full list of Award categories, please visit or search #FLAwards on Twitter. 

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account