Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

The Stadium Experience Awards

3 June 2016

Club News

The Stadium Experience Awards

3 June 2016

Official press release from the Stadium Awards

Over 370 guests from football and rugby stadia across the country have celebrated their ‘off the pitch’ successes at The Stadium Events & Hospitality Awards 2016 last night.  The awards, sponsored by Heineken, were held at the Ricoh Arena, home to Premiership Rugby Club Wasps and Coventry City Football Club.  The evening included a fine dining four course menu, awards ceremony, followed by DJ and after party onsite at the Grosvenor Casino Coventry until 4am.

The prestigious awards were the 12th annual awards organised by Stadium Experience, and recognise the efforts and dedication shown by the catering, conference and events teams at every football and rugby stadium across the UK. 71 football and rugby clubs were nominated for awards, with 20 different stadium venues scooping at least one of 33 gongs (across 11 categories).  Some awards were entered by the club themselves and others by nominations from colleagues, media and other club directors.  

The overall winner of the evening was Hull City Tigers, who scooped the top gong for Overall Matchday Hospitality Experience 2016, fighting off tough competition from a record 28 participating stadia across the leagues.  This is the second year running the Yorkshire venue has taken the title.   

The full list of 2016 award winners includes:

Media Choice Award – Sponsored by Conference News
The Media Choice Award category is voted for by visiting local and national media. This audience voted for a warm welcome, friendly service and top class food.  

WINNER – Manchester City Football Club
SILVER – Brighton & Hove Albion Football Club
BRONZE – Everton Football Club

Non-Matchday Mystery Shopper Award - Sponsored by Hospitality Gem

The Non-Matchday Mystery Shopper Award category will be judged by Hospitality Gem in a mystery shopper style sales call.

WINNER – Sheffield United Football Club
SILVER – Leicester City Football Club
BRONZE – Brighton & Hove Albion Football Club

Star For The Future Award – Sponsored by Sodexo PrestigeThe Star For the Future Award category recognises those individuals who shine daily and will one day be leading a team of their own.
WINNER – Sophie Standen – MK Dons Football Club
SILVER – Melissa Mallen – Newcastle Falcons Rugby Club
BRONZE – Hettie Barker – Leicester Tigers Rugby Club

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account