Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Retained List

18 May 2017

Peter Murphy and Liam Wakefield released.

MORECAMBE boss Jim Bentley has announced his retained list.

Peter Murphy and Liam Wakefield have been released by the Shrimps with contract offers made to Michael Rose, Kevin Ellison, Barry Roche, Aaron Wildig, Alex Kenyon, Paul Mullin and Ryan Edwards.

Talks are still ongoing with Andy Fleming and Lee Molynuex while Bentley is also discussing options with several youth team players.

Loan players Alex Whitmore, Antony Evans and Michael Duckworth have returned to their parent clubs.

Dan Nizic, Luke Conlan, Aaron McGowan, Dean Winnard, Rhys Turner, Luke Jordan and Tyler Brownsword are all under contract for next season.

Bentley said: “I would like to place on record my thanks to Peter Murphy and Liam Wakefield for their efforts.

“Liam was an excellent professional who was great to work with and we wish him well.

“Peter has unfortunately suffered from two major injuries while with us but through all that time he was great to work with and an excellent club captain and he leaves with all our thanks and best wishes.’’

He added: “I also want to thank the loan players we had last season for their contribution.

“Last year was a difficult one for everyone and every player who represented us deserves a great deal of credit for their efforts.’’

Advertisement block