Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


Player of the Season nominations revealed for 2019 Ladbrokes Northwest Football Awards

19 September 2019

SAM Lavelle and Luke Conlan have ben shortlisted for awards in this year’s Ladbrokes Northwest Football Awards – and voting is now live.

Manchester United’s Luke Shaw, Bernardo Silva of Manchester City, Liverpool’s Virgil van Dijk, Ashley Westwood of Burnley and Everton Football Club’s Lucas Digne will battle it out for the Premier League Player of the Season accolade.

Fans can now cast their votes ahead of the awards, which will be announced at the 2019 Ladbrokes Northwest Football Awards at The Point, Emirates Old Trafford on Monday, November 11.

This year’s Awards marks the twelfth year of recognising the best talent of the beautiful game in the region.

In the League Two Player of the Season category are the Shrimps’ Luke Conlan, Macclesfield Town’s Fiacre Kelleher, Callum Lang of Oldham Athletic and Scott Davies of Tranmere Rovers.

Lavelle is one of 17 players nominated in the Rising Star list with current title holder Trent Alexander-Arnold again nominated alongside Manchester United’s Mason Greenwood, Wigan’s Recce James, Fleetwood Town’s Ash Hunter and Oldham Athletics’ George Edmundson amongst others.

Laura Wolfe, speaking on behalf of the Ladbrokes Northwest Football Awards, said: “The player and fan media channel nominations for the 2019 Ladbrokes Northwest Football Awards showcase the immense hotbed of talent that exists in both the women’s and men’s games across our region.

“We are looking forward to another fantastic evening on Monday, November 11th.”

Fans can cast their votes online now.

2019 Player of the Season nominations:

League Two Player of the Year

Morecambe Football Club - Luke Conlan
Macclesfield Town - Fiacre Kelleher
Oldham Athletic Football Club - Callum Lang
Tranmere Rovers - Scott Davies

Rising Star

Accrington Stanley - Ross Sykes
Blackburn Rovers - Lewis Travis
Bolton Wanderers - Harry Brockbank
Burnley Football Club - Dwight McNeil
Everton – Richarlison
Fleetwood Town - Ash Hunter
Liverpool - Trent Alexander-Arnold
Macclesfield Town -Miles Welch-Hayes
Manchester City - Iker Pozo
Manchester United -Mason Greenwood
Morecambe - Sam Lavelle
Oldham Athletic - George Edmundson
Preston North End -Jordan Storey
Rochdale - Luke Matheson
Salford City - Ibou Touray
Tranmere Rovers - Harvey Gilmour
Wigan Athletic - Reece James

The Ladbrokes Northwest Football Awards (NWFA) celebrates the region’s footballing elite and pays tribute to those who have achieved footballing excellence both on and off the field in the 2018/19 season. The Ladbrokes Northwest Football Awards recognises football excellence from the Male and Women’s football leagues from the National League though to Premier League. More online here.

For further information about the awards or to attend, please contact Amy Beresford on 0161 532 8596 or email

Advertisement block