Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Match Reports


12 December 2020

THE Shrimps moved up to 10th in the League 2 table with a 1-0 victory over Harrogate Town in the first ever Football League meeting between the two sides.

Aaron Wildig was the Shrimps match winner with his fifth goal of the season as he headed in an Adam Phillips cross on 56 minutes to score the only goal of the game.

Morecambe boss Derek Adams made four changes to the side beaten at Newport County last week with Wildig and Cole Stockton coming back from injury and recalls Ryan Cooney and John O’Sullivan.

Stephen Hendrie and Jordan Slew were both suspended with Nat Knight-Percival and Alex Kenyon returning to the bench.

Both sides began brightly with the visitors seeing George Thomson have a shot blocked by Yann Song’o in the opening exchanges.

The Shrimps soon hit back with Cooney firing an effort just wide from the edge of the box and Wildig clipping a shot just off target.

Harrogate threatened themselves with Thomson curling an effort over from the edge of the box and Connor Kirby volleying over the bar after the Shrimps failed to convincingly clear a corner.

The second half started with Phillips testing Harrogate keeper James Belshaw from distance and Stockton seeing a shot blocked as the Shrimps began well.

The deadlock was finally broken on 57 minutes when Phillips delivered a pinpoint cross to the far post and Wildig nipped in behind his marker to head home from close range.

The Shrimps then should have added to their advantage. On 61 minutes Stockton was through on goal only to see his shot blocked by Belshaw.

Seconds later, he intercepted Josh Falkingham’s misplaced pass and ran on goal but saw his shot saved by Belshaw again.

The Shrimps were almost made to pay when Cooney lost possession and Aaron Smith fired over from Ryan Fallowfield’s cross for Harrogate’s best effort.

Morecambe: Halstead, Mellor, Lavelle, Davis, Cooney, Wildig, Songo’o, O’Sullivan, Mendes-Gomes, Phillips (Kenyon 83), Stockton. Subs not used: Turner, Knight-Percival, Diagouraga, Leitch-Smith, McAlinden, Gibson.

Harrogate Town: Belshaw, Fallowfield, Lawlor, Hall, Burrell, Thomson, Falkingham, Kirby, Kiernan, Martin (Stead 80), Muldoon. Subs not used: Cracknell, Beck, Kerry, Miller, Lokko.

Ref: O Yates.

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account